mychicbump

Guest Chic Bump: Corilynn

In Maternity chic, Supermoms on September 19, 2012 at 12:09 am

http://laviepetite.blogspot.com/

Well, I am super petite (4’11” on my best day), and I have been married for 9 years.  I’ve got 3 children (I call them my littles) and am pregnant with my 4th.  I’ve been style blogging for about a year and a half and I started my own indie clothing line earlier this year.
Ah, so many things!  Being a mom is just such a beautiful gift.  Everything that is wonderful about being a woman is wrapped up in motherhood.  Getting to completely love and nurture another human being.  Feeling your own little creation growing and moving inside of you.  Wow!  I don’t think I’ll ever stop being in awe of that.  Mostly, I love how rewarding it is to love and care for my children, to watch them grow and progress and succeed.  Penelope Leach said: “Loving a child is a circular business.  The more you give, the more you get, the more you want to give.”  So true.
My baby is due on November 1st, and it’s a girl.  So I’ll have 2 girls and 2 boys!  Yay!  I’m counting on her coming a little early, as all three of my other littles have, which means if she’s born in October she’ll be my 3rd October baby.  Lucky time of year for us I guess!
Without a doubt my beauty essential is my Bare Minerals foundation.  I converted years ago and I will never look back.  The stuff is amazing!   I think I tell everyone I know about it.  It makes you look flawless everyday, and even improves your skin.  You’d think I’m getting paid to say this but really I just love it that much.  I just started using their new foundation and it’s even more incredible than the original.
My favorite go-to look is a pair of boyfriend jeans with some wedges and a fun top with a blazer or cardigan.  I love boyfriend jeans so much!  They are a great way to have the functionality of jeans and still be stylish.  I’ve made a pair work through my entire pregnancy by just going up a couple sizes and buying a super low rise.
Hm, tricky.  Right now, probably my be-band, because it makes all my non-maternity pants fit!  I’d like to hug whoever invented that thing.  Pure brilliance.  I’ve also bought several dresses from Gap this pregnancy (some maternity and some not) and they are in constant rotation.  It’s really hot in AZ this time of year and dresses are a must have.
My sister told me to make sure I rest and take care of myself.  I have a hard time taking a break without feeling like a schmuck.  Plus, with 3 littles, a house and clothing line to run I am just so so busy all the time.  It was good for me to hear her say that I need to stop and take care of myself.  Sounds simple enough, but sometimes it’s hard to remember!  I love to do pilates, it helps my back and makes me feel so much better, so I try to make time for that now.  And if I’m super tired, I lay down and take a little nap.
The idea actually came from my husband. I started sewing when I was very young, and then I started designing my own patterns when I realized that nobody sold a pattern small enough to fit me. Once I realized how much I enjoyed creating my own designs, I started getting really interested pairing them with unique prints and fabrics.  Before long the requests were rolling in, and I was doing 10 custom orders a week and not even close to keeping up with the demand.  I told my husband I wished I could branch out on my designs but I was never caught up enough to do anything new.  He suggested I just start my own line, and then I’d have the freedom to do more.  I thought it was brilliant and so we got started and never looked back.  Thankfully, he’s also an MBA so he helps me through all the numbers/businessy stuff.  He also does all our photography, and he’s fantastic.  I think we make a pretty good team!
I love classic silhouettes, but I love to work with lots of color and I love bold and whimsical prints.  I definitely lean towards feminine classic.  Audrey Hepburn, Jackie O, and Chanel are my muses.  I love their elegant simplicity.  I have a serious weakness for anything nautical.
I have an amazing husband, that’s how!  He is completely supportive of me in my role as a mother and also as a designer.  He helps me with pretty much every aspect of my business and I could not do it without him.  I feel like the most important thing is having your priorities straight.  Being a wife and mom is always first for me, and I don’t do “work” when my littles are awake or around.  I feel like they deserve to have me “present” when I’m there, not distracted.  I work on my clothing line at night or during the day when they are at school.  (Basically, in every spare minute)  Other than that, we try to stay super organized and keep our house very clean.  When things are messy, or out of order EVERYTHING takes longer and I don’t have enough extra time for anything to take longer.  I  won’t lie and say that life isn’t a little crazy or hectic, but when you love what you’re doing it’s worth it.

I would love to do a maternity line!  Right now I’m just trying to keep up with the demand and development on my regular line, but in the future I’d love to add petites, maternity, and I really really want to do a children’s line as well!
You can find me at my style blog: laviepetite.blogspot.com, and you can find my designs on my website dresscorilynn.com

A very special thanks to my friend Cori for sharing with us her style/pregnancy tips!

 

She sure knows how to work that chic bump of hers!

 

If you or someone you know would like to be featured as a Guest Chic Bump of the week, leave me a comment!


Follow Mychicbump on FacebookPinterest, Chictopia, and Twitter
Leave a Reply

