mychicbump

5 Simple Beauty Tips For Busy Moms

In Go-to Look, Maternity chic on October 3, 2012 at 12:07 am

Estee Lauder Foundation Intensity 4 , Mac Foundation Brush #190, Smashbox Photo Finish Primer, Rimmel Natural Bronzer in Sun Dance, Boiing Concealer in 4 Medium, Naked Palette, Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer, Rimmel Lipstick by Kate Moss #12, Estee Lauder Lipgloss in Praline Paradise

Many of you have asked me for makeup tips and tricks recently, especially for quick ways to look put together while running around as a busy mom. I don’t know about you but I’m lucky to have even 15 minutes to get ready before heading out to go on walks, do errands, and all the running around after a very active little 2 year old, who by the way is officially potty trained! Yay me! I mean Naomi…  🙂

Tip #1: When using a foundation, always use a good brush or makeup sponge. I try to avoid using my fingertips as much as possible because the oils in your hand will make your makeup run and look uneven.

Tip #2: I don’t usually have time to touch up my makeup so I make sure to apply my Smashbox Photo Finish Primer before applying anything else. I could seriously kiss the person who invented this. Best. Product. Ever. Today I had a  super full day that ended with a three hour photo shoot in the hot sun.  Doesn’t matter, it’s almost midnight now as I’m writing this post and my makeup looks as good as it did this morning when I put it on!

Tip #3: Same goes for applying your eye shadow. You always want to use a little bit of primer before applying your favorite eye shadow color so that it stays smooth all day long. Nobody likes cakey eyelids, and without primer any wrinkles you have will look more noticeable.

Tip #4: On lazy days when I don’t feel like getting ready, or just don’t have time I can’t leave the house without my Boiing Concealer from Benefit. This is seriously a miracle in a bottle. With all the happiness and joy that comes from being a parent, you also get equally fabulous dark circles from many sleepless nights rocking baby to sleep. This concealer makes sure that I’m the only one that has to know about it (and that I don’t scare the neighbors with my raccoon eyes)  😉

Tip #5: Always, always, always use a moisturizer! It will keep your skin healthy and supple, and give you a smoother, more beautiful canvas to work with. It also helps delay wrinkles and many even have some protection from the sun’s rays.  This is just as true in the colder months when dry cold air will suck all the moisture out of your skin just as fast.

With these 5 simple tips (and a little lip gloss) you’ll be ready to go no matter how big a hurry you’re in.

For hair styling tips, go to Let’s Talk Hair!

Highlight of the day

Finding my little Naomi potty training her dolly! haha I may not have to potty train our next child, she is a pro at it now!

Via Instagram @karenzaro

  1. Although my son is a teenager now, I still don’t have a lot of time to apply makeup! I use a moisturizer with SPF, mascara, and chap stick everyday-on days that I have more time I use, moisturizer with SPF, BB Cream, Laura Gellar eyeliner, mascara, and chap stick!

Leave a Reply

